Skip to content ↓


The governing body provides strategic leadership and accountability in school. It has three key functions:

  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent
  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

Governor definitions

The Headteacher is a member of the governing body by virtue of their office.

  • Parent governors are elected by other parents at the school. Any parent, or carer, of a registered pupil at the school at the time of election is eligible to stand for election as a parent governor. Parent governors may continue to hold office until the end of their term of office even if their child leaves the school.
  • The Staff governor is elected by the school staff. Teaching and support staff who, at the time of election, are employed by either the governing body or the local authority to work at the school under a contract of employment, are eligible to be staff governors. They cease to hold office when they cease to work at the school.
  • Co-opted governors are appointed by the governing body. They are people who, in the opinion of the governing body, have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.
  • The Local Authority governor is approved by the local authority but appointed by the governing body. They are an individual who has skills which contribute to the effective governance and success of the school
  • ASSOCIATE MEMBERS: Associate members can be appointed by the governing body to serve on one or more governing body committee. They are not governors and therefore do not have a vote in governing body decisions, but may be given a vote on decisions made by committees to which they are appointed.
Current governing body membership
Mrs Andrew Pattison Headteacher
Mrs Andrea Jackson Deputy Head - Co-opted Governor
Mrs Sarah Williams (Chair of Governors) Co-opted Governor
Mrs Lyndsey Taylor (Vice Chair) Parent Governor
Mr Luke Simcoe  Co-opted Governor
Mrs Tricia Toone Parent Governor
Current Vacancy Staff Governor
Mrs Gillian Coupland Clerk to Governors