Skip to content ↓

Northborough Primary School


The governing body provides strategic leadership and accountability in school. It has three key functions:

  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent
  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

Governor definitions are below:-

The Headteacher is a member of the governing body by virtue of their office.

Parent governors are elected by other parents at the school. Any parent, or carer, of a registered pupil at the school at the time of election is eligible to stand for election as a parent governor. Parent governors may continue to hold office until the end of their term of office even if their child leaves the school.

The Staff governor is elected by the school staff. Teaching and support staff who, at the time of election, are employed by either the governing body or the local authority to work at the school under a contract of employment, are eligible to be staff governors. They cease to hold office when they cease to work at the school.

Co-opted governors are appointed by the governing body. They are people who, in the opinion of the governing body, have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.

The Local Authority governor is approved by the local authority but appointed by the governing body. They are an individual who has skills which contribute to the effective governance and success of the school

ASSOCIATE MEMBERS: Associate members can be appointed by the governing body to serve on one or more governing body committee. They are not governors and therefore do not have a vote in governing body decisions, but may be given a vote on decisions made by committees to which they are appointed.

The current governing body membership is below:-

Mr Stuart Mallott                                                      Headteacher

Mr Richard Corner                                                   Local Authority

Mr Duncan Gray                                                       Parent

Mrs Deborah Hiller (Chair of Governors)           Co-opted

Mrs Debbie Hodge                                                  Co-opted

Andrea Jackson                                                       Staff

Mrs Kerry Leishman                                               Co-opted

Mr Sean Rowcliffe                                                   Parent

Mr Paul Rylance                                                      Co-opted

Mrs Christine Tindall (Vice Chair)                       Co-opted

Mrs Rosie Tomaselli                                               Parent

Vacancy                                                                    Parent

Janet Harris                                                             Clerk to Governors